Friday, January 5, 2018

Random Review . . . Awaken Me by Alex Grayson


The darkness of grief has consumed him. Can he trust anyone to help him heal? Awaken Me, book four in The Jaded Series by Alex Grayson, is now #FREE in KindleUnlimited!!!


The highly anticipated conclusion of The Jaded Series, featuring the beloved Nick and the relentless Chris. Be prepared to experience an emotional roller-coaster of a life time!

What do you do when you lose the single most important thing in your life? You grieve. You sink so deep in a hole, you can no longer see the top. All you see is dark. Your life becomes dull and dreary. You withdraw from your friends, lash out at the ones you're closest to, and become so absorbed in your pain, you feel the only way out is to end it permanently. Your heart no longer pumps properly and you can never get enough air in your lungs. You drink, you neglect your health, and you rent dirty hotel rooms with the sole purpose of ending your pain in them. Guilt eats at you for not being at the one place you were needed the most. And you become angry because you were left behind. Or at least, that’s what I did. Until she came along… Chris, the bane of my existence. She’s always there in the background, watching me, trying to ‘be there’ for me. But I don’t want her help. I don’t need her to butt in where she’s not wanted. I just want to be left alone in my dark world. But she's not giving up, even when I'm a bastard to her. Every time I turn around, there she is. And what’s worse, she’s starting to make me want things. Things I never thought I could have again. She’s making me forget the pain and bringing color back into my life with her fiery red hair, bright green eyes, and the silly faces she makes at herself in the mirror. But what happens if I let her in? Could I be brave enough to open myself up, knowing the possibility of having it snatched away again. Once I know the feeling of touching Chris, of having her heart and soul blend with mine, I would never survive losing that. Can I take the chance of her being my savior, even knowing that she could also be the one that could push me other the edge of self-destruction?

Awaken Me can be read as a stand alone, but it is HIGHLY recommended to read at least the first in the series, Shatter Me. Through Shatter Me, you will understand the emotional ties between Nick and Chris and why Nick is the way he is. Without reading Shatter Me, Nick's behavior may seem too harsh for some readers. This is not a light read. Deals with mental abuse through extreme grief. Intended for readers 18+.

My Review:

**3 stars**

I looked forward to this book from the moment I read book one. I wondered what would become of Nick's character throughout the whole series because the author only teased us with a glimpse here and there of his character. I'm glad I finally got it.

The story was well written and filled with a crap ton of angst and heartache. The plot kept me interested and I was able to finish the book in one sitting.

That being said, it disappointed the heck out of me. Like WTF kind of doormat female bashing mental abuse bull crap did I just read?!?! Chris??? Nick??? This is what you give me???

Nick was hurting, so every crappy thing he did was okay and forgivable? Chris was the only one who could get through to him (never mind she's been trying for over a year), so her friends (who can't stand the thought of her being hurt) implored her to keep trying with Nick, who was so stuck in his past that he went against everything he knew to be right & wrong (he repeatedly admits that he knows he's doing wrong) and treated Chris like the scum of the earth. It got to the point that I found myself reading just to see when Chris would react differently. I couldn't enjoy the characters because they both made it so hard to like and relate to them with their unrealistic actions/reactions. I get that love is blind, but seriously, Chris! And Nick? Such a devastating let down. I kept waiting for him to truly redeem himself. Nope. He was a total disappointment the entire book. He left her twice when she needed him most, like not just because she wanted him, but life and death needed him. Selfish doesn't begin to describe his actions. And how did so many people "see" Anna? That's one thing I didn't like throughout this whole series; when there was a situation, it was always taken to the extreme.

Overall, the book was good, it was just a huge disappointment to me.


About Alex

Alex Grayson is the bestselling author of heart pounding, emotionally gripping contemporary romance including The Jaded Series, The Consumed Series, and two standalone novels. Her passion for books was reignited by a gift from her sister-in-law intended to distract Alex and help her pass the time while her husband was away for work. After spending several years as a devoted reader and blogger, Alex decided to write and independently publish her first novel in 2014 (an endeavor that took a little longer than expected). The rest, as they say, is history. Originally a southern girl, Alex now lives in Ohio with her husband, two children, two cats and dog. She loves the color blue, homemade lasagna, casually browsing real estate, and interacting with her readers. Visit her website,, or find her on social media!

No comments:

Post a Comment